Homeward Bound!

Standard

I never expected to be posting from my hospital bed but here I am, two days after my mastectomy, all set to go home later today.
Am amazed how well I feel – even a few hours after the op I was alert and (quite frankly) relieved to be alive! I’d never had a general anaesthetic so was incredibly anxious (to the point I left my Will strategically positioned at home!) in case something went wrong.

I had two drains in the wound to start off with – entertainingly disguised in doggie poop scoop bags so we could carry them easily when going to the loo – but one came out yesterday and the other is being taken out today before I’m discharged.

The lovely ladies in my ‘Breastfriends’ support group all said the op was a ‘walk in the park’ in comparison with the chemo and, even at this early stage, I have to agree. The chemo did get progressively worse (as expected) and I was blighted terribly by infections because my immune system was so compromised. It felt like a huge milestone to complete the six rounds and my ‘reward’ was a lovely week away – 2 nights in Southampton and 4 on the Isle of Wight. We were incredibly lucky with the weather and my energy levels improved as the week went on.

I persuaded Ray to park me on a bench on the Monday so he could go for a push along the coast as I was still too tired to do much, but by the Tuesday I was walking a fair distance – though I still needed a nap before dinner!

Next stage will be radiotherapy in about six weeks, after my wound has healed.

I did speak too soon about my toenails – in the end I lost two of them and am also losing one thumbnail too. But I have sprouted some fluffy hair (Ray calls it ‘peach fuzz’ as it’s not the real thing yet) and there are little black dots where I think my eyelashes are trying to break back through!

Hopefully my posts will be a bit more regular now the worst side effects of the chemo have subsided and I have more energy and am more alert.

Have been overwhelmed by all the lovely texts, emails, Facebook messages and calls – thanks to you all – I’m a very lucky girl!

Am posting this (hopefully) from my phone and if it works there should be a photo of me on the Isle of Wight – taken at a distance with me wearing sunglasses as I still looked shocking at that point – the post chemo pallor was not a good look!

image

13 thoughts on “Homeward Bound!

  1. You continue to amaze us all Fi. Your resilience is abundant and bravery, inspirational. Your attitude, from day one, has been positive. We can’t wait until we see you and Raymondo again.

  2. Fiona, I had no idea that this was happening to you. Your post has made me smile as the positivity shines through. All my best wishes to you in your recovery and next phase. Take care. Janice x

  3. KarynD

    Hello Fiona, Karyn here. It was a pleasure to meet you, your positive outlook and ‘happy-go-lucky’ attitude is truly inspiring. I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog and I shall be sure to keep up to date with your posts. Hope you are home safe now and resting well.

    Have a lovely weekend.

  4. Kathleen Miller

    Hi Fiona, I do greatly apologise for not being in touch for a while, however my thoughts have been with you, the number of times you pop into my head and I think I must e.mail you tonight, but then tonight becomes tomorrow and so on……………………

    It’s just so so good to hear your getting home again, you have travelled a long long way this year but just think the worst is over and things can only go up from here on in!!!

    Take care and take it easy when you have to, no guilt feelings and will speak to you soon again
    xxxxxx

    • Thanks Kath – and please don’t apologise! Life is so hectic for everyone. I know there’s lots going on at your end too (our mums speak so I get kept up to date). Take care 🙂 xx

  5. Jan

    I’m so pleased you are doing so well, and getting your energy back (personally I think toe nails are over rated). You’re an inspiration. Hoping the break from treatment gives you the rest you deserve. X

Leave a Reply

